Friday, 26 December 2014

Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms book #3) by Morgan Rhodes

Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms, #3) Title: Gathering Darkness
                                                                   Author: Morgan Rhodes
                                                                   Published: December 9th 2014 by, Razorbill
                                                                   Series: Falling Kingdoms book #3
                                                                   Genre: Fantasy, YA
                                                                   Stars: 4.5/5

In GATHERING DARKNESS, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred - the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic...

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia's overpowering magic - all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia's powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica... but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.

These books just keep getting better.  Read my reviews of book 1 here and book 2 here.

So in terms of the characters, they pretty much stay the same. The four main protagonists; Lucia, Cleo, Magnus and Jonas are very much alive and taking hold of the book. Additional characters are included such as Amara, Ashur’s sister, and who very much is a snake. And of course Felix.

I can’t put my finger on him, what him and his power’s exact purpose is. Towards the end you realise he was just a lonely boy looking to make some real friends. However, at the sudden turn of events, the readers are left wondering where his true loyalty lies. He’s just an interesting fella.

There’s one major relationship within this book and that’s between Magnus and Cleo. I know I’ve said in my reviews of the two previous books that I really want Cleo and Jonas to become an item and how I hate Magnus due to his disgusting feelings towards his sister (adopted or not adopted) however, that mayyyy have changed a bit in this book (eeike). Okay, I really like love-hate relationshops and Magnus and Cleo’s relationship is the exact definition of that. They hate each other so much and they have reasons to, especially Cleo. But there’s these moments in the book where they see the other side to the person and can’t help admiring them......butttt Magnus (majority of that time) just goes and ruins it all by saying something or doing something on purpose. That boy is just so afraid to let anyone in. And also there is no attraction on Cleo’s behalf towards Jonas. It’s towards the end when I was really clutching the pages and desperately hoping for something to happen between Magnus and Cleo. Safe to say we are not disappointed!

Majority of the plot line in this book is to find the four crystals that have been scattered all over the place. There’s some secrets spilled in this book, some people that you just cannot trust and one major villain appearing at the end of the book. Anddd we just all know Lucia has gone and turned that forever curling leave right over to the dark side *cue dramatic music*.

Like I said, these books just keep on getting better and I have no idea how this is all going to play out at the end. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...